• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Mark McGrath

Mark McGrath

Landlubber

• Crew Member
  • 7 posts

Posted 25 May 2012 - 09:02 AM

I have been reading a good bit on the GORUCK challenge.  I am not sure if I am going to get a chance to run one of these challenges, but none the less I figured I would place that as a goal.  I have seen a few recommendations, and frankly I need new running shoes.  With that said I have been looking at Salmon(sp)  would anyone else recommend specific brands or styles for such a abusive event?

#2 Rocketman_87

Rocketman_87

Salty Dog

• Crew Leader
  • 204 posts

Posted 25 May 2012 - 07:40 PM

This might not be any use to you as far as what shoes to look for, but it might offer some more insight on more than just the shoe. When I started training with a weighted pack for the Goruck I was wearing the La Sportiva: C-Lites, since they had recently served me well in the Tough Mudder. But once I added weight to my runs/ jogs I developed Plantar Fasciitiss. I believed this was caused by the higher arch of the shoe, and it probably could have easily been avoided by stretching my calves a lot more, before and after. I then switched over to Oakley SI boots for more of a ruck, and less of a run type training routine, but that didn't help. The added weight affected my stride in normal running shoes, which put too much strain on my feet. Boots should have worked since they are my normal rucking footwear, but the damage had already been done. Running shoes might feel fine at first, but be aware that they might not be suited for weighted runs.I ended up giving up on my Goruck dreams for the time being and have adopted a minimalist sole shoe for running to address my new found foot condition. I think I'm back to the point where I can start training for it again, but it's taken a long time to get back to where I am.Point being, its more than just the shoe. Take care of your feet, and everything else that goes into having them functi